Loading Events

« All Events

Type Over Time

March 10 @ 9:00 am - 6:30 pm

The Type Directors Club is pleased to announce a celebration of its 70th anniversary, a day-long series of typography talks and an evening reception.

TDC Medalists and former TDC presidents will speak about their careers, their views on the typographic professions, memories of the Type Directors Club, and the future of type. Speakers will include medalists Ed Benguiat, Louise Fili, Paula Scher, and Erik Spiekermann, as well as former TDC presidents Allan Haley and Charles Nix.

The day will close with a 5 pm cocktail reception at the SVA Theatre.

Twenty-nine Type Directors Club Medals have been awarded in recognition of outstanding contributions to typography. Hermann Zapf won the first in 1967 and Emigre (Zuzana Licko and Rudy VanderLans) was honored with the most recent in 2016.

The Type Directors Club was formed in 1946 in New York City and is a professional organization dedicated to educating its international membership and the graphic arts and design communities about the value of typography in communication.

This event is sponsored by

School of Visual Arts and Monotype

(details and updates to come)

9:00 a.m.
Check in and coffee

9:30 a.m.
First speaker

Noon–1:30 p.m.
Lunch (not provided)

1:30 p.m.
Talks resume

4:30 p.m.
Closing remarks

5:00–6:30 p.m.
Cocktail reception


March 10
9:00 am - 6:30 pm
Event Categories:


Type Directors Club
t: 212-633-8943


SVA theatre
333 W 23rd Street
New York, NY 10011 United States
+ Google Map
(212) 592-2980